History of Camp Long
Started in 1937, dedicated in 1941.
Created for the purpose of bringing people close to nature and providing
safe and enjoyable outdoor camping and climbing experiences.
Camp Long was once a little used, 68 acre corner of the West Seattle
Golf Course. In 1937 Seattle Park Board member, Archie Phelps, Judge
William Long, Ben Evans of the Seattle Park Department and Clark Schurman,
well known Scout leader, expert mountaineer and wilderness camp developer,
embarked on a mission. They wanted to acquire and develop this land
to make it into a place for organized scouting groups to learn camping
skills. They were joined by a committee of representatives of youth
groups, City Council members, other concerned citizens and supportive
agencies and councils. Together they worked hard to create Camp Long
and protect its natural beauty.
EARLY DAYS OF RECYCLING & REUSE
Materials for the camp came from sites all around the city. The lumber
for the camp buildings came from an old school building and an abandoned
Civilian Conservation Corps camp. East Madison Street was being repaved
and the old stone paving blocks became part of the main lodge. A nursery,
which was part of a bankrupt estate, had to surplus many ornamental
trees. These trees became a living part of Camp Long. The work was done
by the Works ProgressAdministration.
SCHURMAN ROCK -- A CLIMBERS
This major attraction at Camp Long was designed by Clark Schurman. His
dream was to build a human-made mountain incorporating every potential
rock climbing problem into its design. After taking a winter to make
a clay model of the rock, Schurman worked very closely with the W.P.A.
workers to create his dream rock. It took 2 years to complete the 20
foot high, erratically shaped climbing rock. Schurman called it Monitor
Rock after its intended purpose to "warn, remind, advise and instruct."After
Schurman's death in 1955 the rock was renamed "Schurman Rock"
to honor Clark Schurman's contribution to Camp Long and mountaineering.
On the occasion of the renaming on September 7, 1957, William G. Long
gave a special radio address.
NOW A CAMP FOR EVERYBODY
Originally built to serve organized scouting groups Camp Long was opened
to the general public in 1984. Camp Long's 68 acres and unique recreation
features offer visitors an opportunity to explore nature, hike, camp
overnight in rustic cabins, rock climb and learn about natural history.
Page Acknowledgements and
on this site is all rights reserved -This is a non-commercial, historical
and hopefully educational website. No part of this site may be reproduced,
stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means
without prior consent.